Gilbert is a given name of Norman-French origin, itself from Germanic Gisilberht or Gisalberht. Original spellings included Gislebert, Guilbert and Gilebert. The first element, Gil-, comes from Germanic gīsil, meaning "shaft of an arrow" or gisal "pledge, hostage", while the second element, -bert comes from Germanic -behrt, short form of beraht, meaning "bright" or "famous". Another origin arises from Galwegian Gaelic in the name "Gille Brigte" meaning "follower of St Bridget" which is anglicised as "Gilbert". Gille Brigte or Gille Brighde is also the Gaelic for Oystercatcher, a sea bird associated with the story of St Bridget.
The name was introduced to England by the Normans where it was popular during the Middle Ages. That is the reason why the pronunciation Gil- [gil] reflects the Northern Norman one [gil], as opposed to Old French [dʒil] > French [ʒil] and explains the alternative spelling Guilbert with Guil- [gil].
Linley grew up in Eltham, south-east London, England.
He began playing the drums at an early age and then went on to study classical music and composition at Oriel College, Oxford University and Goldsmith's College. After a period of writing soundtracks for film and television he began writing under the Gilbert moniker.
In 2010, the latest Gilbert album, Wahoola!, was released. About the new record Linley wrote: " I wanted 'Wahoola!' to more obviously feature the talents of the people who have been performing the first album live.....especially Maud Waret's vocals and Brian Lee's violin-playing". In 2013 Gilbert Linley licensed the album 'Wahoola!' to Felt Music Library www.feltmusic.com.
Veganism is both the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals. A follower of veganism is known as a vegan.
Distinctions are sometimes made between several categories of veganism. Dietary vegans (or strict vegetarians) refrain from consuming animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances. The term ethical vegan is often applied to those who not only follow a vegan diet but extend the philosophy into other areas of their lives, and oppose the use of animal products for any purpose. Another term is environmental veganism, which refers to the avoidance of animal products on the premise that the harvesting or industrial farming of animals is environmentally damaging and unsustainable.
The term vegan was coined in 1944 by Donald Watson when he co-founded the Vegan Society in England, at first to mean "non-dairy vegetarian" and later "the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals." Interest in veganism increased in the 2010s; vegan stores opened, and vegan options became available in more supermarkets and restaurants in many countries.
Wine is sometimes finished with animal products. Specifically, finings used to remove organic impurities and improve clarity and flavour include several animal products, including casein, albumen, gelatin and isinglass.
Wineries might use animal-derived products as finings. To remove proteins, yeast, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle, and not all wines are fined.